Bower Award And Prize For Achievement In Science

The 2023 Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science 

Theme: Safe, Sustainable, Resilient Civil Infrastructure

Prize: $250,000 USD and a 14-karat gold medal

Deadline for Submissions: March 31, 2022

The Franklin Institute seeks nominations for the 2023 Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science of individuals who have made significant scientific or engineering contributions that improve the safety, sustainability, and resilience of civil infrastructure in a world faced with climate change, natural disasters, increased use due to population growth, and infrastructure that has outlived its design life. Nominations should recognize fundamental contributions that have had a broad impact. Nominations are encouraged in, but not limited to, the following subtopics:

  • Artificial intelligence, machine learning, big data analytics, statistical algorithms, and cloud computing

  • Natural disaster risk analysis, management and vulnerability of interdependent systems, and real time monitoring and control

  • Technological advances related to transforming waste to potable water and energy

  • Design innovations, heuristics, methodologies, and standards with application to transportation, water and sanitation, power, bridge, and building infrastructure

Nominations should clearly indicate the scientific or engineering impact—innovative, technical, and/or conceptual—and the societal and/or economic impact of the nominee’s work.


  • This is an international competition for individuals who have made significant scientific or engineering contributions that improve the safety, sustainability, and resilience of civil infrastructure.

  • This award and prize must be presented to an individual, as specified by the will of Henry Bower.

  • Candidates must be living, and the winner will be expected to participate in The Franklin Institute Awards Week programs, to be held in April 2023 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA.

  • Nominations from any individual or organization will be accepted, including self-nominations.

  • Nominations of candidates traditionally underrepresented in science and engineering are particularly encouraged.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations must be submitted in English and must include:

  • Name and contact information of nominee 

  • Name and contact information of nominator

  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae and bibliography of significant and relevant publications

  • Proposed citation of 50 words or fewer, highlighting the achievement(s) for which the candidate is nominated

  • Narrative statement of no longer than five pages describing the nominee’s qualifications for the award

  • Four confidential letters of support requested by the nominator and sent by the authors directly to The Franklin Institute Awards Office

  • The deadline for completed nominations is March 31, 2022

All nominations and supporting letters should be mailed or emailed to:

Beth Scheraga
Director, The Franklin Institute Awards
The Franklin Institute
222 North 20th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103-1194 USA


The Franklin Institute Awards celebrates pioneering achievements in science, engineering, and industry and the brilliant people from across the globe who make them. As the oldest science and technology awards program in the U.S., we honor the legacy of our namesake, Benjamin Franklin—America’s first great scientist and an inventor and statesman whose impact can be seen all around us today. Since 1824, we have recognized more than 2,000 of the most world-changing scientists, engineers, inventors, and industrialists—all of whom reflect Franklin’s spirit of curiosity, ingenuity, and innovation. Our roster of past laureates includes Nikola Tesla, Thomas Edison, Marie and Pierre Curie, Orville Wright, Max Planck, Albert Einstein, Frank Lloyd Wright, Ruth Patrick, Stephen Hawking, Ralph Cicerone, John Mather, Gordon Moore, Jane Goodall, Elizabeth Blackburn, Ray Clough, Bill Gates, Dean Kamen, Jim Allison, Frances Arnold, and Adrian Bejan. 

The Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science, along with the Bower Award for Business Leadership, was established in 1990 through a bequest from Philadelphia chemical manufacturer and philanthropist Henry Bower (1896–1988), the grandson of a 19th century Franklin Institute laureate. The award, 14k gold medal, and cash prize of $250,000 are presented annually to a distinguished member of the international scientific community for work in a prescribed discipline that changes each year. In addition to the Bower Awards, The Franklin Institute presents Benjamin Franklin Medals in chemistry, civil and mechanical engineering, computer and cognitive science, earth and environmental science, electrical engineering, life science, and physics; and the Benjamin Franklin NextGen Award, which honors a young researcher.